Australian Crown Silver Coins

The Australian Crown Silver Coins were only struck for two years by the Commonwealth of Australia making them one of the most interesting and sought after releases of their period. The Crown Silver Coins were struck in both 1937 and 1938 with the 1938 release featuring the lowest mintage.

Each Australian Crown Silver Coin is composed of .925 silver with a total precious metal content of 0.8411 ounce. The strike has a large diameter of 38.5 millimeters and a hefty total weight of 28.27 grams.

Australian Crown Silver Coin History

The true history of the Australian Crown Silver Coin dates back to the founding of the colonies of the country. In their first few years, no official currency existed leading to several world currencies being used for commerce. That changed in 1825 when the colonies adopted British currency for official use. That move was not a big surprise as the colonies were under British rule.

However, in 1901, the federalization of the colonies occurred and the new federal government of Australia was given the power to mint coins. These new coins did not start appearing until 1910 and were based on the Australian Pound.

While several denominations of coins were struck during the period, there were no Crowns. In fact, the Coinage Act of 1909 prohibited such a coin from being minted. That law was amended, however, in order to commemorate the coronation of Edward VIII. Unfortunately, Edward abdicated just two days after the Federal Parliament made the change.

Instead, the new Crown Silver Coins would commemorate George VI of England who followed Edward VIII. These new commemorative coins struck at the Melbourne Mint were popular with the public leading to an estimated mintage of 1,008,000 of the 1937 releases. However, the new coins were also struck in 1938, but were met with poor acceptance and an estimated mintage of only 101,000. No future Crowns were produced.

Shown on the obverse of each Crown is an effigy of His Majesty George VI of England completed by Thomas Humphrey Paget. Obverse inscriptions include "GEORGIVS VI D : G : BR : OMN : REX F : D : IND : IMP" (George VI by the grace of god, ruler and king, defender of the faith, emperor of India).

A crown is shown on the reverse of the strike along with the inscriptions of "COMMONWEALTH : OF : AUSTRALIA," "ONE CROWN" and the year. It is the work of George Kruger Gray.


All data and information provided on this site is for informational purposes only. CoinNews Media Group LLC makes no representations as to accuracy, completeness, correctness, suitability, or validity of any information on this site and will not be liable for any errors, omissions, or delays in this information or any losses, injuries, or damages arising from its display or use. All information is provided on an as-is basis.